The Asian Actuarial Congress (AAC), formerly known as East Asian Actuarial Congress (EAAC), was established in 1981. Its constitution was formalised in 1989 with the following objectives:

  • To exchange ideas and information on all kinds of actuarial knowledge.
  • To discuss subjects of mutual interest relating to actuarial theory and practice with particular application to East Asia economic and regulatory conditions.
  • To promote the actuarial profession within the East Asian region and to discuss standards of competence and conduct within the actuarial profession.
  • To work towards the establishment of a data base of information of interest to actuaries so that interested parties can refer to such data base.
  • To hold meetings and discussions, publish papers, reports and studies, make or sponsor investigations, promote educational activities, and to undertake such other activities as may be decided by the Executive Board.
  • To maintain contact with other actuarial and professional organisations and interested individuals or organisations.

To date, the AAC is made up of 12 actuarial organisations with close to 25,000 members. The actuarial organisations are:
  • Actuaries Institute Australia
  • China Association of Actuaries
  • The Actuarial Society of Hong Kong
  • The Institute of Actuaries of India
  • The Society of Actuaries of Indonesia
  • The Institute of Actuaries of Japan
  • The Institute of Actuaries of Korea
  • Actuarial Society of Malaysia
  • Actuarial Society of Philippines
  • Singapore Actuarial Society
  • Actuarial Institute of Chinese Taipei
  • The Society of Actuaries of Thailand
In the early years, a biennial event (called East Asian Actuarial Conference and now known as Asian Actuarial Conference) was organised by varying actuarial organisations every 2 years in member countries and starting from 2013, it has become an annual event.

Below highlights the history of AAC:
Year EAAC/AAC Highlights
1981 1st EAAC Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: titled as “Actuarial Society of Malaysia, 1981 International Seminar”.
1983 2nd EAAC Singapore: The title of the Conference was changed to “East-Asian Actuarial Conference” at the 2nd EAAC in Singapore.
1985 3rd EAAC Manila, Philippines: 1st-3rd December 1985
1987 4th EAAC Hong Kong: 25th-27th May 1987
1989 5th EAAC Taipei: Constitution of EAAC was drafted at 5th EAAC in Taipei.
Note: 1990 The planning meeting began from 1990.
1991 6th EAAC Bali, Indonesia: October 1991
1993 7th EAAC Singapore: 30th November - 3rd December 1993
1995 8th EAAC Tokyo, Japan: Constitution of EAAC was signed at 8th EAAC in Tokyo.
1997 9th EAAC Bangkok, Thailand: 19th–22nd October 1997 in Bangkok, Thailand
1999 10th EAAC Seoul, Korea: Making the EAAC flag was decided at 10th EAAC in Seoul. 3-6th October 1999
2001 11th EAAC Hong Kong: 7th-10th October 2001
2003 12th EAAC Manila, Philippines: 12th-15th October 2014, EAAC logo was adopted and India joined EAAC at 12th EAAC in Manila.
2005 13th EAAC Bali, Indonesia: 12th-15th September 2005
2007 14th EAAC Tokyo, Japan: 9th-12th October 2007 Australia joined EAAC and Constitution was amended at 14th EAAC In Tokyo.
2009 15th EAAC Seoul, Korea: 12th-15th October 2009
2011 16th EAAC Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: 10th-13th October 2011. EAAC decides to hold the event once in a year from year 2013 as against once in two years.
2013 17th EAAC Singapore: 15th-18th October 2013
2014 18th AAC Taipei: 12th-15th October 2014, name changed to Asian Actuarial Congress from East Asian Actuarial Congress so as to envelope whole of Asia.
2015 19th AAC Bangkok, Thailand: 3rd-6th November 2015
2016 20th AAC Gurgaon, India: 9th-12th November 2016
2018 21st AAC Hong Kong: 16th-19th September 2018